Volume 1 in this three-volume set covers the Army’s revolutionary roots, its fighting doctrine, and provides accounts of major operations – the independence struggle, consolidation of the Republic, military campaigns against CIA-backed regional separatists in Sumatra and Sulawesi during the late-1950s, the “liberation’ of West Irian and the “Confrontation” with Malaysia. The story starts during the late-colonial period and spans the Japanese occupation during the Second World War, the struggle for independence, the chaotic parliamentary democracy period during the 1950s, Sukarno’s autocratic Guided Democracy and the Army’s increasingly bitter contest for power with the Indonesian Communist Party – setting the stage for the final bloody confrontation and General Soeharto’s New Order – the subject of Volume 2.

Click on the image below to order
Volume 1 book version from Amazon:
                              Click on the image below to order
Volume 1 Kindle version from Amazon:
Cover - website Kindle